Studio Workshop for Adults: June Summary

June 26, 2016

Studio Workshop for Adults

Shedd Institute for the Arts, Rm 324

Sunday, June 26, 2016

5:30-6:50 p.m.

Number of Participants: 6 


June's Composer: J.S. Bach (1685-1750), German Baroque Composer from Eisenach, Germany


Select Keyboard Works:

15 Inventions

15 Sinfonias

48 Preludes and Fugues (Well Tempered Clavier Books I and II)

 6 French Suites

6 English Suites

6 Partitas

7 Toccatas

Goldberg Variations

Overture in the French 

Italian Concerto

The Little Notebook for Anna Magdalena







Prelude of the dayGoldberg Variations - J.S. Bach, played by Murray Perahia



Article: "Why the Progress you Make in the Practice Room Seems to Disappear Overnight" - Noa Kageyama, PH. D. 


Performances and General Feedback from Class:

Catherine - Humoresque - Antonin Dvorak

-Good job moving forward and not being fazed by slips or mistakes

-Hear the piece before you start

-Feel the lilt and playful qualities of the piece


Hannah - Prelude no. 21 in Bb Major from Well Tempered Clavier Book I - J.S. Bach

-Good job with making the piece sound improvisatory!

-Successfully entering into the music by playing it in head before playing on keys

-Could possibly use some dynamic differences but too not dramatic (IMO)

-Rehearse starting tempo beforehand in practice and in head immediately before performing 


Bea - II. Andante Cantabile from Sonata no. 8, op 13 in C minor (Sonata Pathétique) - Ludwig v. Beethoven

-Good musical connection to the piece and its affect; clearly enjoying the music

-Take a moment to prepare mentally before allowing hands to fall on the keys to begin the piece

-Relax body to produce a relaxed resonant tone, particularly on the forte passages


Discussion Topics

How to practice technical exercises such as scales

-different rhythms

-different patterns of accentuation

-different dynamics

-different voicing (RH louder than LH or LH louder than RH)



IMSLP - International Music Score Library Project 


Distribution of Primo and Secondo duet parts for the first movement (I. Andante) of Stravinsky's Five Easy Pieces for Piano Four Hands. Pianists Giovanni Carmassi and Giuseppe Fricelli.





Please reload

Featured Posts

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2016 by Andrew Pham.

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now